sergey-fediv-218856

What I am about to tell you is proof you never know what’s going on in someone else’s life. I never thought I would get to that point. I was always a good kid, I never got involved in drugs, smoking, criminal activities. My social life didn’t go past my church steps. I was considered your “perfect” Christian girl.
Until I wasn’t anymore. One day I woke up, and my ENTIRE life had changed. I was in a group home, I was moved to a different foster home, I was shipped off to my aunts, I couldn’t find work, I had no way of leaving. When I turned 18, I officially aged out of the foster care system. It was time for me to be on my own, and foster care wasn’t going to help me at all. I had no money, I had nothing, and no one.
I moved around a few more times staying with friends and when I couldn’t stay with friends it was homeless shelters. It was street corners. It was my backpack and I the whole time. Luckily I had applied for food stamps not long after I aged out of the system. I was able to eat. That is until my wallet got stolen.

brevite-434273.jpg
That was the last straw for me. I had hit a breaking point in my life. I sat down on a cold hard concrete sidewalk and literally gave up. I was asking God why? Why me? Why did he have to let everything I had been taken from my grasp? Happy new years to me right? Since it was New Years day I sat in the very shelter my wallet got taken in. The worst part about it all…was that I didn’t do anything to put myself in that position. I didn’t drop out of school or sell myself to addictions. That life was forcing itself on me, and I had finally stopped fighting it. I couldn’t anymore, I didn’t have the strength to do it all by myself.
That was the moment I received a call from a very kind older woman. I didn’t know her, but she had heard about me and my situation. So she offered to pay for me to go to a hotel…AND gave me a grocery store gift card. I had one place to stay for the night and then a few hours later as I sat in that hotel room bed watching TV, I found long-term housing.

ferdinand-stohr-176623.jpg
It was that movement I gave everything to God and surrendered my life to him that things started to come together for me. That’s all he was waiting for. Me to give I’m my whole heart and soul. It was about a week ago I sat on that street corner feeling like I was going to die. Now I have everything I need and more. Within 24 hours of giving it all up to him.
I wanted to share this with all of you because I want you all to see how faithful God is to you. He loves you and promises to take care of you no matter what. You just have to let him.

Matthew 6:26
Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

God has never left nor forsaken me even when I felt like he did. So no matter what you are going through know that God will always protect and care for you. All you have to do is have faith in him and trust that that’s what he is going to do. Have faith, have patients, give love, RECIVE love. Just let God take care of you.

2 thoughts on “Living Homeless

  1. That is amazing! I know you’ve had a hard life, bit I had no idea that happened to you! šŸ˜¦ I’m so grateful to God, though, that you’ve lived through these terrible times and you have no bitterness, but you’re encouraging and inspiring others! Thank you so much for simply everything you do, and for allowing me to think about the homeless from a different perspective than I usually do.šŸ’œ

    Like

Leave a comment